Soil Erodibility in GIS

Hi there,
I am a bit confused in creating the soil erodibility map (K) for the SDR model. I’ve checked out the links provided in the user manual for soil maps but it is not clear to me if K is included in these maps or if it needs to be calculated. I also understand because my research is within the U.S. I should use the USDA one but I am also not sure once I am on that site which tool/data to use. From there, I am completely lost. I am a beginner GIS user and first time InVEST user so things are not always so straightforward to me.

I was wondering if someone could explain the steps on how to get the soil erodibility map I need from the data set and to calculate K. Unit conversions and what not I can do but I just am not sure how to get K factors from this soil data and which data I should be using.

Any explanation or information is extremely helpful, thank you in advance!

Edit: I found this K factor map in ArcGIS data online, would this be suitable for the model? (see image)

-Michelle van Hilten

Hi @michelle.vanhilten -

I looked up the layer you referenced from ArcGIS online. It sounds like it was derived from the same underlying data that I’ve used in the US (gNATSTO and gSSURGO). But, it also says this about units: “The values are in units of Micrometers per second (μm/s).” This is odd, since the description explicitly says that this layer is used in the USLE, but the USLE requires different units. And I’m really not sure how to convert micrometers per second to the complicated annual units (ton⋅ha⋅hr⋅(ha⋅MJ⋅mm)−1) that are required.