The input data of NDR

Hello, Community! Hope everyone is well!
I am doing an assessment of water purification ecosystem services in a certain region and all the literature uses potential evapotranspiration raster data when using the InVEST model, but the model window does not ask for this data, and I can run successfully without entering potential evapotranspiration data, why is that? Also, all the data for TN and TP are available in the biophysical table, but there is always an error in the model window when I check Calculate Ni trogen Retenti on and Calcul ate phosphorous retention, why?
Thanks a lot.

Hi @littlepencil , thanks for posting,

Checking the User’s Guide, it doesn’t seem like any of the model’s computations require evapotranspiration. I’m not an expert in this field, so I can’t really explain why that might be surprising. Would you like to share some of the literature that you refer to?

Could you please post the content of the error message? You can see it by clicking the red X, or by clicking the Run button. Most likely there’s just a minor issue with formatting in the biophysical table. You could upload your table here if you can’t identify the problem.

Hi @littlepencil -

Can you provide more detail about “all the literature uses potential evapotranspiration raster data when using the InVEST model”? We do have two models that require potential evapotranspiration data (Annual and Seasonal Water Yield), but NDR does not require PET/ET0. Some people use the InVEST Annual or Seasonal Water Yield model to create the “Nutrient runoff proxy” input to NDR, so perhaps this is the case in the literature that you’re referring to?

~ Stacie

1 Like

thank you, my friends!
For the second question, I attach the error results for your reference, and again, thank you for your guidance and answers from experts and friends
The error warning is as follows: