Input data for ndr

Dear Community,

I am new to InVEST NDR and I need your help. I am expected to run NDR for a watershed in Zambia.
I have read the manual, but I still have the following difficulties because InVEST cannot read all my inputs for the watershed.

How best can I download files that will be recognised by InVEST and run the model successfully?
Do I have to use another Model to processes then before taking them to InVEST.
What websites would you recommend for me to download LULC?

Thank you

Welcome to the forum @Joseph_Mphande!

Are you seeing an error when putting your inputs into the Workbench interface? If so, please post a screenshot of the window showing the error message. If the errors are produced after you hit Run, please post the entire log file (.txt with a long name) that is created in the Workspace. That contains a lot more information that might help us debug.

We provide several resources that help with data and formatting. The User Guide Introduction and Getting Started section talks about data formatting, and also introduces the sample data, which we recommend using as an example for how to format your own data.

The NDR model chapter also has a Data Sources Appendix that provides pointers to some global data sources, plus some additional guidance. For LULC in particular, I’d recommend seeing if there is a national LULC map for Zambia, which is often provided by the government. If there isn’t a national one, then you could look at the global sources referenced in the Appendix, and see which one is the most accurate for your watershed.

Being proficient with GIS is a requirement for preparing the data that goes into the models, and there are a lot of tutorials and guides on the internet that can help with that too. While we don’t generally teach GIS, we do have a small series of videos called GIS for InVEST that may be helpful.

~ Stacie

Dear Stacie,

Thank you for your timely response and the information you provided.