Carbon Model - Maximum number of LULC classes

Hey everyone,

I am a forestry student and my graduation project focuses on carbon storage and sequestration potential across the Iroquois watershed in northwestern New Brunswick (Canada). My study area is a forest massif so I have many strata and consequently, LULC classes.
Is there a limit to the number of LULC classes that can be entered in the Excel file to make the model work? For example, a maximum of 100 lucode or no limit?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Hi @Laurie -

The software team may know of some sort of technical limit, but I have successfully run several of our models on LULC rasters that have hundreds of land cover classes, and it seems like it should be able to handle at least an order of magnitude more than that (although if you’re using that many classes, I feel bad for you having to populate that carbon pool table!!!)

~ Stacie

2 Likes

Thank you for the answer. I admit that some forest strata should be grouped together. For now, I have 311 strata for my current LULC (2020), not counting the LULC classes associated with the 2050 projection.

For the development of future land use scenarios, what would you recommend to use to help us generate them? Do you know Geoplanneur?

Thank you.

HI @Laurie -

I can’t say I’ve ever used a tool for generating scenarios, although many people do. We’re often gathering stakeholder input and using it to alter baseline LULC maps, and/or alter the model values that are applied to each LULC class, using a very manual GIS process.

InVEST does include a simple Scenario Generator, which you might look into. And I’d enjoy hearing from others who have used different tools for creating scenarios.

~ Stacie

I can’t really speak to the scenario generation question, but I can speak to the LULC class limit:

There really isn’t a limit to the number of LULC classes that the model can handle, and the 311 classes that you mention should work in the model very well.